skip navigation

General Albert James Myer and Private Harrison Baird Veterans Scholarship

In order to enhance the educational experience of University at Buffalo students who have served or are serving in the United States Military, SFC Robert Gilbert has established the General Albert James Myer and Private Harrison Baird Veterans Scholarship to be used for the purpose of providing financial support to veteran students in the College of Arts and Sciences.

Eligibility Guidelines:

Undergraduate, veteran students who are studying in a major or minor within the College of Arts and Sciences are eligible for funding. Funds are awarded each year.  Preference will be given to CAS majors.

A student recipient must maintain a minimum Grade Point Average (GPA) of 3.0.

The recipient will be selected based on individual merit and financial need.

Application for assistance is confidential and submitted to the CAS Undergraduate Education Awards Committee. University faculty and staff are encouraged to recommend students whom they believe would qualify.

The award is renewable for an additional year or with exceptional circumstances as deemed by the Selection Committee and as long as the recipient meets the above mentioned criteria.

Any disbursements made to individuals must be made in accordance with UB’s equal opportunity guidelines. (“No person, in whatever relationship with the State University of New York at Buffalo, shall be subject to discrimination on the basis of age, creed, color, handicap, national origin, race, religion, sex, marital or veteran status.”)

Application Procedures:

Students who apply for funding must provide:
• A short narrative of their time at UB.
• A short narrative about their current financial situation.
• A short narrative about their future plans.
• One letter of recommendation from an advisor or faculty member.

Recipients are expected to write a thank you letter to the donor.

Deadline: September 15 of each year

Please submit completed application, including recommendation letter, as a Word document or in PDF form to:

For questions, please contact:
Claire Schen
Associate Dean for Undergraduate Education
Chair, CAS Undergraduate Awards Committee
College of Arts and Sciences
University at Buffalo