skip navigation

Alumni Awards

Scholarship & Awards Reception

The annual College of Arts and Sciences Scholarship and Awards Reception recognizes alumni and friends whose generosity is so important to the college and to celebrate alumni award recipients.


Past Award Recipients

Dr. Julian Park Award

The Julian Park Award is the highest honor awarded by the dean and is given to an alumnus or friend who has made meritorious and notable contributions to the college or university that supports its growth and priorities and inspires others to give of their time and talent.

2016– Thomas P. Ralabate
2015 – Milton Ezrati
2014 – Bruce McCombe, PhD
2013 – Sharon Bob Young
2012 – Hon. Gustin Reichbach
2010 – Eileen Silvers
2009 – Darryl Raszl
2008 – Gordon Gross and Gretchen Gross
2007 – Edward Kikta
2006 – Robert Morris
2005 – Ashok Kaveeshwar

Dean’s Award

The Dean’s Award is given to an alumnus or friend of the College of Arts and Sciences in recognition of their unique contributions to service and scholarly research.

2015 – Mark Meyerhoff
2014 – Mary Anderson
2013 – Takiyah Nur Amin
2012 – Janet Rideout
2009 – Rosalind Jarrett; Christine La Monte
2008 – Frank Silvestro; Eileen Silvers; Mark Weiner
2007 – Wayne Blank; Ellen Fleysher
2006 – Ellen Baker; Pam Benson; Richard Kurin
2005 – Kenneth Fuchs; Patrick Kennedy; Edward Kikta; Robert Morris

Distinguished Alumni Award

The Distinguished Alumni Award recognizes outstanding contributions in
community or university service, research or scholarly activity, or exceptional career accomplishments.

2016 – Walter Fierson, Jacob Kassay, Norma Jean Nowak
2015 – Nina DiGregorio, Jim Gerace, Jr., Jon Lehrer
2014 – Mark Hass; David Sack; Ishmael Reed
2013 – Charles M. Baxter; Jordan Levy
2012 – Jeffry Denman
2012 – Joe Esposito
2009 – Harvey Karp
2008 – Ann Kirschner
2007 – Thomas Hook; Robert Swados
2006 – Dolores Battle; Arthur Levine; Thomas Toles; Alan Zweibel
2005 – Barry Glick; Louis Masur; Sebastian Rosica; Marjorie Winkler

2011 Philanthropist Award

Stephanie Mucha

Distinguished Alumni Humanitarian Award

2009 – Karima Amin
2008 – Rev. Richard Allen Stenhouse
2007 – Mark Grashow
2006 – Ronald Silver
2005 – Edward Lefrak

Outstanding Recent Alumnus Award

2008 – Cindy Cooper
2007 – Lauren Cabell
2006 – Calvin Chin; Cynthia Hoover
2005 – Parry Shen; Elizabeth Kim

Distinguished Service Award

2008 – Thomas Hyde
2007 – Joseph Gardella
2006 – Sidney McCroskey
2005 – Beuline Crawford


Scholarship and Awards 2014 15154356813_66ed34fcd2_m
Video from the event                        Photo gallery from the event

Alumni Association Awards

The UB Alumni Association achievement awards recognize individuals who bring distinction to themselves and to UB through their outstanding professional and personal achievement, loyal service to UB, and exemplary service to their communities.

Learn more and nominate a deserving alumni.

Find us on Facebook

Follow us on Twitter