skip navigation

CAS APT Committee

College of Arts and Sciences

Appointments, Promotions and Tenure Committee

July 1, 2017 – June 30, 2018


Committee meets every Thursday from 3:00-5:30 pm.

Committee of 12; all members hold continuing appointment; at most 3 Associate Professors; no two members from one unit; no member a unit chair or CAS officer; election each Fall, with one candidate nominated by each CAS unit not having a continuing member; members serve 3-year terms, at most two terms consecutively.  Committee elects Professor as Chair.

Chair:  TBD

Term ending June 30, 2020:     

COM   Feeley, Thomas – Professor – 1st Term

COL    Johnson, David – Professor – 1st Term

PHY   Sen, Surajit – Professor – 2nd Term

GEO   Wang, Le – Professor – 1st Term

Term ending June 30, 2019:

MTH   Dimock, Jonathan – Professor – 2nd Term

MUS   Kolor, Thomas – Associate Professor – Partial Term1

TD      Matthews, Nathan – Associate Professor – Partial Term2

HIS    Vardi, Liana – Professor – 1st Term

Term ending June 30, 2018:

SOC   Adelman, Robert – Associate Professor – 1st Term

ENG   Frakes, Jerold – SUNY Distinguished Professor – Partial Term3

PSY    Read, Jennifer – Professor – 1st Term

CHE   Richard, John* – UB Dstg Prof – 1st Term


1 Thomas Kolor, Associate Professor in Music, replaces Gerald Koudelka (term ending June 30, 2019)

2 Nathan Matthews, Associate Professor in Theatre & Dance, replaces Kristin Tjaden (term ending June 30, 2019)

3 Jerold Frakes, SUNY Distinguished Professor in English, replaces Carol Berman (term ending June 30, 2018)


APT Special Election

Term ending June 30, 2018:

COL    Gasché, Rodolphe – SUNY Dstg Prof

LIN     Michelson, Karin – Professor

ART    Schirm, David – Professor